Last Updated on November 5, 2023 by Lydia Martin
Texas is known for its huge sprawling plains, delicious Tex-Mex cuisine, and exciting booze. However, we know it’s tough to buy beer and wine from a different state, as liquor laws can be very confusing.
Don’t worry; we’ve done the legwork to answer a common question: “What time do liquor stores close in Texas?”
We hit the streets of Texas, talked to locals, and visited liquor shops to find out the ultimate deal, so the next time you plan a liquor run, you’ll know exactly when to go.
What Time Does A Liquor Store Have To Close In Texas?
Liquor stores have to close by 9 pm in Texas. If you plan to buy alcohol from a liquor store owner or local brewery, they are allowed to sell liquor from 7 am to 9 pm on weekdays, provided they have the necessary package store permit.
Texas Time: Beer flows freely, but it’s midnight’s lullaby.” – Liquor Laboratory
Sunday hours are different, as it is illegal to buy beer and wine in liquor stores before 10 am on Sundays. You also cannot purchase straight liquor on Sundays.
Liquor sales start by 10 am in bars and restaurants, provided you will also be ordering food.
The Texas beer laws vary depending on which establishment you plan to get your alcoholic beverages from.
Why Texas Did Not Sell Alcohol For 61 Hours In 2022
Texas didn’t sell liquors/alcohol for 61 hours during the 2022 Christmas and New Year’s weekend because of the alcohol laws set by the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC).
Under this law, when Christmas and New Year’s Day fall on a Sunday, the stores that sell booze will stay closed until Tuesday.
A liquor store is mandated by law to close from Sunday midnight until the regular sale hours on Tuesday — a total of 61 hours.
Texas Alcohol Laws
The Alcoholic Beverage Code prohibited stores from selling beer and wine before noon on Sundays. However, a new house bill was signed in 2021, allowing the sales of beer and wine to start from 10 am.
As per this new Texas law, hard liquor is still a no-go on Sundays.
What Are The Blue Laws In Texas?
Blue Laws, sometimes known as Sunday Laws, regulate some activities and promote a day of rest. 
- What Time Do They Stop Selling Alcohol In Georgia?
- What Time Do They Stop Selling Alcohol In Indiana?
- What Time Do They Stop Selling Alcohol In Oregon?
- What Time Do They Stop Selling Alcohol In New Mexico?
What Day Are Liquor Stores Closed?
Liquor stores should be closed on Sundays, as per Texas Alcohol Laws.
“Blue laws are a reminder of how Sunday once stood apart from the rest of the week.” – Jon Meacham
However, that’s not to say that you can’t buy beer in Texas on Sundays – convenience stores and grocery stores can still sell beer and wine but are not allowed to sell hard liquor and spirits.
What Time Can You Buy Liquor In Texas?
You can buy alcohol/liquor from 10 am to 9 pm from Monday to Saturday in Texas.
If you plan to buy alcohol, beer, and wine from a classic Texas grocery store, liquor sales start from 7 am to 12 mn on Mondays to Fridays and 7 am to 1 am on Saturdays. Sunday hours are slightly different, as stores start selling beer in Texas from 10 am to 12 pm.
Bars and restaurants can start selling alcohol from 7 am to 12 mn (1 am on Saturday night). Certain bars with temporary events and caterers’ licenses can serve until 2 am.
On Sundays, you can start ordering alcohol with food as early as 10 am. However, if you are only drinking alcohol, you can start buying beer and wine at 12 noon. They stop selling beer at 12 mn.
Hotel bars can serve alcohol to registered guests at any time of the day.
During holidays, like Christmas Day or Thanksgiving Day, any open grocery store is allowed to sell alcohol. 
Is It A Dry State On Sunday?
No, Texas is not a dry state on Sundays, but there are some dry counties, like Borden, Hemphill, and Kent.
However, you can find beer from 10 am to midnight at a few “wet counties,” courtesy of the Alcoholic Beverage Code.
Can a Bartender Drink While Working in Texas? – you didn’t exactly answer the question
Yes, bartenders can drink while working in Texas, provided it’s limited to tasting and quality control. However, they are not allowed to get drunk on shift.
Is There a Curfew for Buying Alcohol in Texas?
Yes, there is a curfew for buying alcohol in Texas. Most liquor retailers are open to sell beer and wine from 7 am to 12 mn on Mondays to Saturdays and 10 am to 12 mn on Sundays.
A liquor store can sell beer and wine from 10 am to 9 pm, Mondays to Saturdays. You can buy beer earlier in grocery stores, gas stations, and convenience stores, as they can do so from 7 am to 12 mn.
On Sundays, you can still buy beer and wine from grocery and convenience stores from 10 am to 12 mn. In some dry counties, stores can’t sell beer and wine at all.
Bars and restaurants can start selling liquor from 7 am until 12 am most days, with an extra hour until 1 am on Saturdays.
Registered guests with legal identification can enjoy alcohol at hotel bars during legal hours.