Last Updated on February 9, 2024 by Lydia Martin
The Department of Commerce Division of Liquor Control (DOLC) regulates the distribution, retail sales, and merchandising of alcoholic beverages in Ohio.
If you are new or visiting the state, it pays to know Ohio liquor laws to avoid hassle and arrest.
We talked to some of the liquor store owners and the authorities to get a clearer view of what time can you buy alcohol in Ohio. Keep reading to know more about it.
About The Time You Can Legally Buy Alcohol In Ohio
Based on Ohio alcohol laws, you can buy different alcoholic beverages in Ohio from Monday to Saturday from 5:30 AM until 1:00 AM (Class 1) or 5:30 AM until 2:30 AM (Class 2).
We have categorized the window hours of alcohol sales in Ohio depending on the retailers’ permits.
Class 1 Permit Holder: A-1, A-1c, A-2, B-1, B-2, B-4, B-5, C-1, C-2, C-2X, D-1, D-2, D-2X, D-3 when issued without a D-3A, D-3X, D-4, D-5H, D-5K, D-8, F, F-1, F-2, F-3, F-4, F-5, F-6, F-7, F-8, F-9, G, or I
Class 2 Permit Holder: A-1A, D-3 when issued with a D-3A, D-4A, D-5, D-5A, D-5B, D-5C, D-5D, D-5E, D-5F, D-5G, D-5I, D-5J, D-5l, D-5m, D-5n, D-5o or D-7
In addition, you can legally buy alcohol in Ohio on Sundays if authorized. But in any event, it should start at least 5:30 AM and until Sunday midnight.
Also, the consumption of alcoholic beverages on on-site premises is not allowed if beyond the approved selling hours. In addition, you must be at least 21 years old to sell liquor, serve alcohol, and consume.
Hour Sale Schedules In Buying & Selling Alcohol In Ohio
Mondays To Saturdays
According to the local authorities we interviewed, those stores with permits mentioned in Class 1 can buy and sell alcoholic beverages in Ohio from 5:30 AM until 1:00 AM.
Also, you can consume beer, wine, distilled spirits, and mixed beverages during the window hours mentioned.
Those with permits mentioned in Class 2 can buy and sell alcoholic beverages in Ohio from 5:30 AM until 2:30 AM.
Sunday sales of alcoholic beverages and intoxicating liquor are not allowed in Ohio unless the retailer or merchandiser secures an authorized permit.
Ohio, for example, requires all who sell liquor and wine in the state to have the same type of permit regardless of their location.
– Jessie Hill, Professor of Law
In addition, the approved Sunday sales should begin anytime from 5:30 AM until 12:00 MN on Sunday only.
Those with permits mentioned in Class 1 can deliver alcoholic beverages in Ohio from 5:30 AM until 1:00 AM.
Those with permits mentioned in Class 2 can deliver alcoholic beverages in Ohio from 5:30 AM until 2:30 AM.
Sunday sales home delivery is also allowed, given that the retailer has secured a permit.
However, the local jurisdiction can restrict hours of delivery, so make sure to check within the local jurisdictions before asking for home delivery.
What Is the Liquor Law In Ohio?
Liquor law in Ohio is detailed and comprehensive, so you must pay attention to avoid arrest .
Here are some of Ohio’s liquor laws that you should note:
The legal minimum drinking age should be 21. Stores with a liquor license cannot sell beer and other beverages to those not of legal drinking age.
No person below 19 years of age shall sell beer, and no person below 21 shall sell wine, distilled spirits, and mixed beverages across a bar.
No person below 18 shall serve, handle, or sell intoxicating liquor or beer.
All establishments and retailers selling alcoholic beverages must secure a permit depending on their class type.
No permit holder shall sell alcoholic beverages to intoxicated persons.
Where & When Can You Buy Them?
Bars, Restaurants, & Hotels
You can buy alcohol from bars, restaurants, and hotels with permits under Class 1 from 5:30 AM until 1:00 AM.
However, you can only buy alcohol from bars, restaurants, and hotels with permits under Class 2 from 5:30 AM until 2:30 AM. The selling and drinking age is strictly enforced on permit holders.
Buying alcohol in grocery stores varies depending on the permits they hold. If they have permits under Class 1, you can buy alcohol from 5:30 AM to 1:00 AM.
On the contrary, if they have permits under Class 2, you can buy alcohol from 5:30 AM until 2:30 AM.
Not all gas stations have licenses to sell liquor, but if they have permits under Class 1, you can buy alcohol from 5:30 AM until 1:00 AM.
On the other hand, if the gas station has a permit under Class 2, you can buy alcohol from 5:30 AM until 2:30 AM. Moreover, selling alcohol to minors is illegal.
Breweries & Taprooms
Breweries and Taprooms that bear a permit under Class 1 can sell alcohol from 5:30 AM until 1:00 AM.
However, if they have a permit under Class 2, they can sell alcohol from 5:30 AM until 2:30 AM.
Package & Liquor Stores
Based on Ohio Laws and Administrative Rules, there should only be five state liquor stores established in every county, and additional stores can be established per 20,000 population.
If the package and liquor stores secure a permit under Class 1, you can buy alcohol from 5:30 AM until 1:00 AM.
On the contrary, if they secure a permit under Class 2, you can buy alcohol from 5:30 AM until 2:30 AM.
Is Ohio Considered A Dry State?
Yes, Ohio is considered a dry state, but there are counties where you can legally buy alcohol. Some people consider it a partially dry state because of the setting.
“In Ohio, the enforcement of liquor laws ensures public safety and order.”
Sunday sales and sales licenses vary depending on the county, so dry townships in Ohio are here and there.
Can you buy beer anytime on Sunday in Ohio?
No, you cannot buy beer anytime on Sunday in Ohio. Based on Ohio Liquor Law, the store should obtain a license to sell on Sundays to sell alcoholic beverages on Sundays.
Sunday alcohol sales are strictly implemented in Ohio, and the authorities implement window time when selling and serving liquor on Sunday.
The beginning of Sunday sales should start between 5:30 AM and 12:00 MN on Sunday, depending on the approved permit.
Are Ohio Liquor Laws strict?
Yes, Ohio Liquor Laws are strict. Based on Daniel Farber, Board of Directors of the American Craft Spirits Association, it is intended to combat the network of bootleggers from Prohibition .
There are respective sanctions and penalties for those who violate the liquor laws in place.
Can you buy alcohol before 12 in Ohio?
Yes, you can buy alcohol before 12 in Ohio. Also, you can buy beer or liquor on Sunday in Ohio. Just ensure you are of legal age to avoid penalties and sanctions.
The legal age to buy alcohol is 21, and you should be at least 18 to serve alcohol in Ohio .
Based on the local authorities for liquor control, you can buy alcohol in Ohio as early as 5:30 AM and as late as 2:30 AM from Mondays to Saturdays.
However, depending on the permit class type, it can close as early as 1:30 AM. Sunday sales of liquor in Ohio are allowed, but there are permits to be secured to do so.
Aside from the sale of beer and liquor on specific days, home delivery is allowed depending on the permit and location.